West Bengal Panchayat Election 2023, FIGHT BETWEEN TMC & BJP.

West Bengal Panchayat Election 2023 Live Updates:


The counting of votes for the three-tier panchayat polls in West Bengal is currently underway under tight security measures. The final results are expected to be announced on Wednesday, following a six-phase counting process. Unfortunately, the election has been overshadowed by incidents of violence, resulting in the tragic loss of lives. Since the announcement of the panchayat polls early last month, political clashes throughout the state have claimed the lives of over 33 individuals, with 18 casualties occurring on the polling day itself.

West Bengal Panchayat Election 2023,
Results of West Bengal Panchayat Election 2023,

Addressing the issue of violence, West Bengal Governor, Dr CV Ananda Bose, expressed his concern, emphasizing that the state must combat two formidable adversaries: violence and corruption. He called upon political parties to unite in their efforts to overcome these challenges.

Senior TMC leader Abhishek Banerjee expressed his gratitude to the rural population of West Bengal for their support and for voting in favor of his party during the elections. In a veiled reference aimed at Suvendu Adhikari, the leader of the opposition BJP, Banerjee remarked that the campaign of “No Vote to Mamata” has now transformed into “Now Vote for Mamata.” This statement implies a shift in public sentiment towards supporting Mamata Banerjee, the Chief Minister of West Bengal and the leader of the TMC party.

The three-tier panchayat elections took place on July 8 across over 61,000 polling booths in West Bengal, witnessing a significant voter turnout of 80.71 percent. Unfortunately, multiple incidents of violence marred the electoral process, with instances of ballot box looting, arson, and disposal in ponds. The severity of the violence prompted the need for repolling in approximately 696 booths. The elections involved over 5.6 crore eligible voters residing in rural Bengal, with a staggering 206,000 candidates competing for 73,887 seats.

Governor has no power except appointing state election commission officer: Madan Mitra

“The Governor has no power except appointing the state election commission officer….Whatever violence is going on in the state the Governor is responsible for it…The people of Bengal hate him…As soon as possible he should return to Delhi: West Bengal TMC leader Madan Mitra on West Bengal Governor CV Ananda Bose’s statement. https://aajtakliv.com/

On Tuesday, West Bengal Governor Dr CV Ananda Bose highlighted that the state of West Bengal faces two significant challenges: violence and corruption. He called upon political parties to actively combat these issues. Dr Bose strongly condemned the incidents of violence that occurred during the panchayat election process, resulting in the unfortunate loss of 15 lives. As the counting of votes commenced, the final results are expected to be announced on Wednesday.

We have no hope from this election: WB BJP General Secretary Agnimitra Paul

“We have no hope from this election (Panchayat Election) after the kind of violence that took place earlier. This is not a mandate because Mamta Banerjee’s goons forcefully got the polls done,” said West Bengal BJP General Secretary Agnimitra Paul on Panchayat election results.

  1. The Trinamool Congress (TMC) has emerged victorious in the violence-affected rural polls, securing a significant lead by winning 28,985 gram panchayat seats. Additionally, they are leading in 1,540 seats, as reported by the State Election Commission (SEC) as of 10:30 pm on Tuesday. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), TMC’s closest rival, has won 7,764 seats and is leading in 417 seats. The total number of gram panchayat seats being contested is 63,229.
  2. The Left Front has achieved success by winning 2,468 seats, with the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M)) alone securing 2,409 seats. The Left Front is currently leading in 260 seats. The Indian National Congress (Congress) has won 2,022 seats and is leading in 139. Other political parties have won 725 seats and are leading in 23 seats. Independent candidates, including former TMC members, have won 1,656 seats and are leading in 104 seats.
  3. https://aajtakliv.com/
  4. reference      https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1678861527770865664?s=20